Reply To: Helping client delete sensitive photos before handing the library to me

Forums Digital Photo Organizing Helping client delete sensitive photos before handing the library to me Reply To: Helping client delete sensitive photos before handing the library to me

#13555
Marci BrennanMarci Brennan
Participant

We had this situation many times. A recent client gave us a folder called “Private” but we still saw her images while sorting, despite not wanting to (there were also dupes she was unaware of). What we tell clients to do is to literally remove them from the collection – if small enough in size they can live on a thumb drive. That way they are truly separate and private.

But yes, seeing photos you wish you could unsee is par for the course. Every job we’ve done has them. Even if they aren’t private images, some are just gross ones (i.e. images of  kid’s injuries that concerned parents send their doctors and then forget to delete, or the ever-popular giving birth photos). I get a bit queasy seeing these images, honestly. But it’s an inevitable part of the job (and then there’s financial info, legal info etc – a whole different ball game).